CLUBLAND LIVE 2023

Re-living the night of your life!

Clubland live was due to visit the AO Arena in Manchester, Cascada were on the list of acts appearing on the tour and my wife really wanted to see them live. The Venga boys were also due to appear, I mean, really? Despite the threat of the Vengas I agreed to join my wife on the night and try to enjoy the show.

As soon as the opening act Rezonance Q hit the stage with an in yer face version of Someday, my preconceptions were blown away, the atmosphere was set and you just knew that the night was going to be massive.

I’d never managed to catch Kelly Llorenna live before and so when she took to the stage it was a blast, clad in black inconspicuous under a large black hood True Love Never Dies top tune. Tell it to my Heart a classic and the audience were really up for it. The volume and the energy was already bringing back memories of many Happy Hardcore raves from back in the nineties.

Karen Parry along with Flip & Fill/Ultrabeat Kept the party on track, Dancing On My Own, Pretty Green Eyes, and many more of their classics followed. I won’t mention the Venga Boys who delivered a set that was like something you would catch on a Cruise Ship cabaret stage. They were on far too long, five minutes would have been five minutes too long!

Thankfully Darren Styles was ready to take the music faster and harder, a really banging set with all his own tracks plus many more, this was what I was hoping for, Hardcore!

Exif_JPEG_420

The visuals were good all night long as well as the non-stop dancers, the MC then announced that they’d saved the best until last, my wife began to get excited Cascada? No, unfortunately it was Basshunter, sorry, time to go home.

I was so happy, it had been a really exhilarating evening with one or two exceptions, lots of my favourite tunes and a chance to see a couple of acts for the first time live. For my wife however it was a different story, no Cascada and all that was left for her to do was to evacuate the dancefloor, that was the closest she’d got to them all night!

Author: paulwelshwriter

Former editor of Penetration Rock Magazine, freelance TV comedy writer, author, photographer, cartoonist and the most modest person alive today.

Leave a comment